Dr. Winfried Hoffmann

Job Title
Applied Solar Expertise

Dr. Winfried Hoffmann graduated in physics and did his PhD-thesis in biophysics. He joined the just formed photovoltaic R & D group for thin film solar cells of NUKEM in 1979 and took over its leadership in 1985.

He initiated the Joint-Venture in the photovoltaic field be-tween NUKEM and Daimler-Benz Aerospace to form "An-gewandte Solarenergie - ASE GmbH" in 1994 where he served as Managing Director. In the same year the acquisi-tion of 100 % shares of Mobil Solar as a subsidiary company was done. In October 2002 the Joint Venture between RWE Solutions and SCHOTT Glas, the RWE SCHOTT Solar GmbH, was formed, where he served as Chairman of the Board. Effective in 2005 SCHOTT acquired the shares of RWE Solutions and the company was renamed SCHOTT Solar GmbH where he was Member of the Management Committee.

In 2007 he joined Applied Materials to become Chief Tech-nology Officer and Vice President of the Solar Business Group and member of the Management Board of the Ger-man based Applied Materials GmbH. From November 2010 he served with his consulting company Applied Solar Expertise - ASE to the solar business of Applied Materials. He served many years until 2008 as member of the Board of the German Solar Economy Association (Bundesverband Solarwirtschaft – BSW Solar), at last as president. Until March 2014 he was for 17 years member of the board and half of this time president of the European Photovoltaic Industry Association (EPIA).

He is currently member of the Board of Trustees of the Fraunhofer Institute for Solar Energy (FhG-ISE) and the Center for Solar Energy and Hydrogen Research (ZSW), chairman of the scientific board of NEXT Energy, member of the Supervisory Board of the Institute for Solar Energy Research in Hameln (ISFH) and the company SMA Solar Technology AG as well as chairman of the Supervisory Board of Solar-Fabrik AG.

Since 2011 he gives lectures about Renewable Energy at the universities Konstanz, Freiburg and Hannover.

In 2012 he received the John Bonda prize from EPIA and the prestigious “European Becquerel Prize for Outstanding Merits in Photovoltaics” from the European Commission. The World Renewable Energy Network (WREN) awarded him as a Solar Pioneer in 2014.

October 07, 2021Welcome & Introduction

October 07, 2021Welcome & Introduction


Further Content